Technical Review Committee Membership

The Center's  Technical Review Committee is made up of national experts in one or more of the critical components of RTI—screening, progress monitoring, and tiered instruction—and also have strong methodological backgrounds and expertise. The members of the TRC are identified below, as well as the specific criteria that were used to guide the TRC membership selection process.

Screening TRC

Selection criteria for the screening TRC were: (a) member has a background in measurement, or strong methodological skills and (b) member has a background in screening. Special attention was paid to including members with expertise on culturally and linguistically diverse populations.  Members of the Screening TRC include:

Dr. Amy Elizabeth Barth is an Assistant Professor in Special Education at the University of Missouri-Columbia.  Dr. Barth, a speech-language pathologist, is currently completing a five year, K08 Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.  The purpose of this award is to support the development of a research line that integrates language, cognitive, and neuropsychological theories and models that examine individual differences in reading comprehension; develops interventions for students who are struggling with reading comprehension; and constructs valid and reliable tests of reading comprehension. Her interests include the identification and treatment of students with language and learning disabilities

Dr. Hugh W. Catts is Professor and Director of the School of Communication Science and Disorders at Florida State University. His research interests include the early identification and prevention of language-based reading disabilities. He is currently involved in a longitudinal study that is designed to increase our understanding of the role of language skills in reading comprehension, and knowledge of how to effectively increase reading comprehension through systematic classroom-based instruction. He is a past board member of the International Dyslexia Association and past President of the Society for the Scientific Study of Reading. 

Dr. Craig L. Frisby is an Associate Professor of School Psychology and teaches in  the School Psychology program at the University of Missouri-Columbia. He also serves as Associate Editor for the APA journal Psychological Assessment. His research interests lie in the measurement of cognitive test session behavior, multidimensional scaling applications, and  multicultural issues in school psychology.

Dr. Dave Heistad served as a program evaluator and Executive Director of Research in Minneapolis Public Schools for 25 years and has worked as the Executive Director of the Research, Evaluation and Assessment for Bloomington Public Schools the past three years.  He has co-authored screening instruments for preschool, K-2 literacy and numeracy, and adaptive behavior used throughout the state of Minnesota.  His current work focuses on the development and implementation of valid educational accountability indicators for school improvement, aligning district success measures with pathways to graduation, and using value-added data for formative evaluation of teacher effectiveness. Dr. Heistad was also the 2009 recipient of the National Council of Great City Schools research leadership award.

Dr. Tiffany P. Hogan is a clinical speech-language pathologist who studies the relation between lexical development and reading acquisition with an aim at improving early identification and treatment of reading disabilities. Dr. Hogan's classification studies have been funded by the National Institutes of Health and several private foundations.

Dr. John L. Hosp is professor of special education in the College of Education at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. His research has examined the utility of screening measures across disaggregated subgoups of students as well as the use of screening data to plan instruction, particularly in elementary reading and middle school science. He has conducted numerous workshops and trainings on using data from screening measures and is a co-author of The ABCs of CBM--an introduction to the administration and use of curriculum-based measures as well as The ABCs of Curriculum-Based Evaluation: A Practical Guide to Effective Decision Making.

Dr. Evelyn S. Johnson is a Professor of Special Education at Boise State University, and the Executive Director of Lee Pesky Learning Center. Her research focuses on examining the role of information processing, self regulation and academic skills to develop more effective interventions for students with learning disabilities, and on developing special education teacher evaluation tools designed to improve the implementation of evidence-based practices in the classroom. She is the co-author of RTI: A Practitioner's Guide to Implementing Response to Intervention, and How RTI Works in Secondary Schools.

Dr. Kristen D. Ritchey is an associate professor of special education in the School of Education at the University of Delaware. Dr. Ritchey conducts research in identification and intervention for young children who are at risk for reading and writing disabilities.

Dr. Mabel Rivera is a Research Assistant Professor at the Texas Institute for Measurement, Evaluation, and Statistics in the University of Houston. Her current research interests include the education and prevention of learning difficulties in English language learners and students with disabilities. In addition, she engages in local and national service activities related to preparing personnel to teach students with special needs, and she presents at national and state conferences.