Essential Components of RTI

Response to intervention (RTI) and multi-tiered systems of support (MTSS) integrates assessment and intervention within a multi‐level prevention system to maximize student achievement and reduce behavior problems. With MTSS/RTI, schools use data to identify students at risk for poor learning outcomes, monitor student progress, provide evidence‐based interventions and adjust the intensity and nature of those interventions depending on a student’s responsiveness, and identify students with learning disabilities or other disabilities. The four essential components of an MTSS/RTI framework are screening, progress monitoring, multi-level or multi-tier prevention system, and data-based decision making. Click on the links in the boxes below, to learn more about each of the components and find related resources.

Multi Level Prevention System

Multi-level prevention system provides access to increasingly intense levels of instruction and interventions. It includes three levels of intensity or prevention, primary, secondary, and tertiary prevention. These levels are sometimes also called Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III.

Universal Screening

Screening is a system for identifying students at risk for poor learning outcomes.

Progress Monitoring

Progress monitoring is a system for monitoring student progress and the effectiveness of the supports provided to students.

Data-Based Decision Making

Data-based decision making occurs at all levels of MTSS/RTI implementation and all levels of instruction.